IPL Team Previews: Likely Starting X1 with Bench [Full Squad]

1 D Smith Q De C M Vijay G Gambhir L Simmons A Rahane D Karthik S Dhawan
2 B McCullum M Agarwal V Sehwag R Uthappa A Finch K Nair C Gayle D Warner
3 S Raina K Jadhav M Vohra M Pandey R Sharma S Watson V Kohli N Ojha
4 F Du Plessis JP Duminy G Maxwell SK Yadav A Rayudu S Samson R Roussow L Rahul
5 D Bravo Y Singh D Miller Y Pathan A Tare S Smith AB DeVilliers H Vihari
6 R Jadeja A Mathews G Bailey S Al Hassan S Gopal J Faulkner S Badrinath M Henriques
7 MS Dhoni M Tiwary W Saha A Russell K Pollard K Cooper J Saxena LR Shukla
8 I Pathan Z Khan A Patel U Yadav H Singh S Binny M Starc K Sharma
9 R Ashwin A Mishra S Sharma M Morkel P Ojha A Sharma V Aaron B Kumar
10 M Sharma M Shami P Awana P Chawla V Kumar D Kulkarni A Dinda T Boult
11 A Nehra I Tahir M Johnson S Narine L Malinga P Tambe Y Chahal D Steyn
12 R More G Sandhu R Dhawan A Mahmood C Anderson R Bhatia M Singh K Williamson
13 M Henry J Unadkat Sh. Sharma RT Doeschate P Patel C Morris S Khan R Bopara
14 R Sharma S Nadeem B Hendricks P Cummins U Chand A Sharma D Sammy E Morgan
15 K Abbott CM Gautham S Marsh J Botha A Blizzard K Richardson M Bisla R Bhui
16 I Pandey T Head K Singh B Hogg J Hazlewood B Cutting N Maddinson P Prasanth
17 B Aparjith A Morkel T Perera VP Singh J Bumrah D Hooda V Zol P Kumar
18 M Manhas J Yadav G Mann Singh K Yadav M McClenaghan V Malik D Wiese I Sharma
19 S Badree S Iyer M Naik KC Cariappa M De Lange R Tewatia S Abbott P Rasool
20 M Hussey S Bharat K Anureet Singh A Garhwal P Suyal J Theron I Abdulla S Kaul
21 A Dwivedi S Tiwary S Tharkur S Narwal A Mithun D Salunke S Warrier C Milind
22 E Bains N Coulter Nile Y Golwalkar V Rawal J Suchitch P Sahu A Nechim A Reddy
23 P Negi M Stolnis S Jackson H Pandya A Nayar H Patel
24 A Tye KK Jiyaz S Lad S Trivedi A Milne
25 P Singh D Joseph N Rana D Yagnik S Bhavane
26 A Wakhare Y Takewala

CSK – The most consistent team will have their four foreigners in Dwayne Smith, McCullum, DuPlessis and D Bravo. The team looks pretty set with rotation at the number 11 slot between either A Nehra/I Pandey/R More. I Pathan could also be replaced with Manhas/Aparjith if they want more batsmen. M Hussey could be the surprise pick if the foreign players do not give CSK the opening they want.

DD – A new team whose foreign players will likely be Duminy, Tahir, Mathews and De Kock. The Australian-Indian Sandhu could come in for De Kock if he falls out of form. The rotations risks definitely are Agarwal/Jadhav/Tiwary/Gautham/S Tiwary where three will play out of five. Gary Kirsten will definitely have a lot of work finding his best eleven here!

KXIP – An entertaining team boasting Maxwell, Miller, Bailey and M Johnson as their four likely foreign players. Heavy rotation between Dhawan/S Sharma and also if openers do not fire, you have S Marsh waiting in the wings. The first game could prove very interesting in terms of line-up.

KKR – The four foreign players pack in at the bowling end with Narine, M Morkel, S Al Hassan and A Russell. With Shakib set to leave for international duty, A Mahmood/J Botha could have a big role to play. P Cummins could come in if Narine gets in trouble with his action or Morkel proves to be expensive. Mystery spinner Cariappa could prove a hit or miss – gamblers rejoice!

MI – Picking four foreign players is tricky, logically Simmons, Finch, Malinga and Pollard should bring balance to this squad but with Mumbai you never know! Anderson could come in for Pollard and Simmons could be benched for a McClenhagan/Hazlewood if the Indian batsmen click. U Chand/P Suyal could come in for S Gopal and J Bumrah is always waiting in the wings if Mumbai decide to go with only one spinner.

RR – Smith, Watson, Faulkner should be shoe-ins with the fourth spot being rotated between K Cooper/K Richardson/C Morris. As for the others, Rajasthan always think outside the box and no one is safe from the bench! Predict this team at your own peril.

RCB – Gayle, Roussow, Starc and AB Devilliers are the favorites here to start. With Milne injured, the only rotation could be Sammy for Roussow. J Saxena could be rotated as more Indian bowling options might be required. Otherwise, pretty straight forward.

SRH – Boult, Steyn, Warner and M Henriques to start. The one in danger could be Henriques as conditions might bench him for Williamson/Bopara/Morgan. P Kumar/I Sharma are on the bench in case other bowlers do not find form. H Vihari’s slot could be in jeopardy along with Rahul’s and other players like Rasool, Bhui could come in.

Leave a Reply